Speaker Series & Conference

CMNCP Annual Conference

CMNCP’s 2022 conference aims to support urban and rural municipalities, Indigenous communities, agencies, groups, and individuals in their efforts to increase community safety in the communities and neighbourhoods in which they work, live, learn or play.

The 2022 Conference will examine several topical and leading-edge questions designed to inspire and provoke conversation in creating safe communities across Canada:

  • To what extent are social challenges impacting safety and/or the perception of safety?
  • What are approaches to addressing the stigma associated with social challenges
  • What are the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on social challenges?
  • What are some cutting edge approaches to address social challenges and increase local safety?
For more information, visit the CMNCP22 homepage.

Climate Change: An Emerging Threat to Community Safety Speaker Series

Cities and their inhabitants are highly vulnerable to safety risks associated with climate change due to their high population density along with their large volume of government services and economic and social infrastructure. Additionally, many smaller, northern, and rural communities will struggle with climate change-related community safety challenges as they disproportionately experience its effects. Unfortunately, most local adaptation efforts have overlooked the need for approaches to prevent and address community safety challenges related to climate change.

In the third session of this series, hosted by Felix Munger, join us to learn more about the intersections between climate change and gender identities within Canada. The Canadian Women's Foundation has found gender-based violence increases during climate induced crises and aims to understand other impacts on women and gender diverse individuals such as housing, food security and migration. This session will discuss these challenges within Canada and include discussions with:

  • Ann Decter, Senior Director of Community Initiatives and Policy at the Canadian Women’s Foundation
  • Karen Campbell, Director of Community Initiatives & Policy at the Canadian Women’s Foundation

DATE & TIME

November 30, 2022 at 10:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM MT / 12:00 PM CT / 1:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM AT

COST

Free.

For more information and to register, please visit our event page


Future of Safer Communities Webinars


Passed Events